Christmas Shopping

7 Dec

I have to take a moment to congratulate myself here…I successfully completed shopping for my family’s Chrismas presents today!  For a girl who usually waits until December 23rd to pick some gifts and then hastily wraps them in whatever tissue paper she can find on Christmas morning, this is pretty darn impressive.  I have to admit that part of the reason I’m being so good this year is that I won’t get to spend the holidays with my family and I’ll have to make sure to get the gifts in the mail within the next few days.  Nonetheless, I’m feeling pretty smug here with the results of my morning shopping laid out before me.  Here’s what I got:

for Dad – 2 good pairs of REI hiking socks and some good jam

for Mom – 4 cute little bottles of different fancy salts along with information and cooking recommendations for each.  The salesgirl at The Meadow was very helpful for picking these out and I ended up with Sel Gris de Guarande, Marlbourough Flakey, Pinot Noir salt, and Lemon Flake salt.

for Sis – 2 great-looking cookbooks for beginners/people who just don’t have a lot of time or money to spend on dinner.  The are The Vegetarian Student Cookbook and Mollie Katzen’s Get Cooking.  I am jealous.

Vegetarian Chili

Ingredients:

– 1 Tbs oil

– 1 small onion, chopped

– 1 Tbs oregano

– 1 tsp cumin

– 1 tsp salt

– 2 stalks celery, chopped

– 1 green pepper, chopped

– 1 28-oz. can crushed tomatoes

– 1 can black beans, drained and rinsed

– 1 can kidney beans, drained and rinsed

– 2 Tbs chili powder

– 1 cup frozen corn, thawed

– sour cream (optional)

Heat oil in a large pot and stir in onions, cumin, oregano, and salt.  Once the onions have softened, add the celery and peppers and cook for about 5 minutes.  Add tomatoes, beans, and  chili powder and simmer for 45 minutes.  About 10 minutes before it’s done, add the corn.  Top with sour cream in serving bowls, if desired.

Leave a Reply

