Product Review: Yoplait Nonfat Plain Greek Yogurt

4 Dec

Over the past few months, I have become a little obsessed with Greek yogurt.  The incredible creamy texture makes my mouth water and I consider it to be a passable substitute for another favorite of mine, ice cream.  Plus, it’s a great source of protein and probiotics.  So when I found the Yoplait version on sale, I was excited to give it a try.  A few bites later, my excitement was severely tempered.  It was bland and the texture was nothing like other Greek yogurt I have had, it was more gelatinous.  I checked the ingredients and, sure enough, there was definitely some gelatin in there.  I sincerely believe that if you have to throw gelatin in your yogurt then you’ve done something wrong and with that in mind, I threw the remainder away without finishing.

Next time I buy Greek yogurt at the grocery store, I’ll be going with The Greek Gods brand (except that I’ve had to ban myself from buying the big containers of their honey yogurt because I WILL try to eat it all in one sitting) or Chobani, which has a pretty good lowfat version made with 2% milk.

Leave a Reply

