15 Oct

I was supposed to go out and see some music tonight but…sometimes you just need some quality time at home, right?  Plus, I’ve got a show marathon coming up tomorrow night with my boyfriend playing in a couple different bands: Light for Fire (download the free song, you’ll love it!) and Pete International Airport.  Between the two, I think we’ll be out pretty late and so I’ll pretend that it’s not lame at all that I chose to stay home and blog tonight instead of going out with a few friends.  🙂

Tonight for dinner, I had some amazing raw pasta that I made from Ani’s Raw Food Kitchen cookbook.  I’ve been a little skeptical about the raw pasta thing for a while.  How could strips of uncooked zucchini ever cut it in the pasta world?  Well, the answer is that you pair them with an amazing tomato sauce.  I honestly think that I prefer her version to the traditional spaghetti and marinara that I’m used to.  The zucchini is such a mild flavor and the fetuccini-style noodles I made using a vegetable peeler had a soft and mildly crunchy texture.  The sauce is simply tomatoes, basic, garlic, lemon, olive oil and sundried tomatoes blended together.  The flavors are fresh and, I think, preferable to Classico marinara that I usually buy when I’m having pasta.

For dessert, I baked a delicata squash that I got on sale at the co-op (a peanut butter cookie served as dessert #2).  Delicata is my favorite type of squash because of how easy it is to make and serve.  All you need to do is preheat the oven to 400 degrees, cut the squash in half lengthwise, and bake the halves face-down for about a half hour.  Add some butter or coconut oil with brown sugar once they’re done and you have a perfect fall side-dish or, in this case, dessert.  The best part about this type of squash is that the skin is thin and soft enough to be eaten.  So you don’t even have to fuss with scooping out the “meat” before serving!

Since I’m rambling on in the “healthy lifestyle” vein here, I might as well mention a workout website I stumbled upon and took for a test-drive today.  Bodyrock seems to be a boot camp style website for the girls.  If I can get over feeling totally self-conscious by comparing myself Zuzana, the trainer, I think I might try to incorporate her routines into my workouts.  Today I tried the Burpee Burnout Workout, which is supposed to last 10 minutes but, in my case, went for about 3.  At least there’s plenty of room for improvement!

Listening to: “Gorilla Manor” by the Local Natives

Watching: Went and saw a great documentary called “Exit Through the Gift Shop” this weekend.  It was funny and thought-provoking, I loved it.

And here’s another photo from my 35mm, which I’m still learning to use.  Have a good night!

Leave a comment