The Day of Free Stuff

6 Aug

Today begins my first (of many) 4 day weekends.  I’m now fully committed to my new lighter work schedule and the lighter paychecks that come with it.  Of course, there is going to be a bit of a lag on the paycheck end.  This week, I was paid the same as any other week.  Next pay period, though, the shorter hours are going to catch up with me.  To kick things off, I’ve had an amazing day of getting free stuff.  “How”, you ask?  Well, I had my first volunteer shift at the Co-op today.  I was checking dates on groceries to see if there was anything expiring today that needed to be weeded off the shelves.  I came home with a half gallon of milk, a loaf of bread, a heat-and-eat burrito, some slightly wilted romaine lettuce, fancy crackers, 5 energy bars, and some brownies.  Don’t worry, I left some for the other volunteers!  I also just found out that I won some tickets to a comedy club that recently opened in town.  I randomly decided to enter a drawing I saw online and now I have my evening plans taken care of for free (minus the alcohol we will undoubtedly end up buying)!  I feel like this is the universe’s way smiling down on the first weekend of my new life.

Projects:  volunteer work

Listening to:  Scared Famous – Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti

Reading:  finished “Dune” by Frank Herbert.  I wanted to like it.  I really did.  The alternate reality created in the book is amazing and impressively complete, but it was a little too melodramatic and nerdy for me.  I also “finished” (by which I mean “decided to skim because I got bored”) “What to Eat” by Marion Nestle.  I was looking for more of a nutrition recommendation manual to help me get my eating habits back on track.  This book, however, focuses more on the politics of  food, which I know has it’s place.  It just isn’t what I’m looking for at the moment.

Watching: Started this season of Mad Men!

Leave a Reply

