Healthified

31 Jul

I have to admit that I’ve never really loved vegetables and I suspect that people who say they do are just kidding themselves.  I might like the butter or salt or other possible additions that can be associated with vegetables, but the green things themselves?…well, I guess they’re good for me.  They don’t really make it to the top of my list when I’m daydreaming about what to cook for dinner.  When I’m in a time crunch they just seem like too much work compared to the burrito I could buy up the street.  Recently, though, I have found a way to drastically increase my veggie intake quickly and painlessly: smoothies.  I have to write about this now because I am, at this very moment, enjoying the very best “green smoothie” that I have ever made.  After weeks of gloopy, gritty, and unappetizing attempts, I feel I’m finally getting the hang of it.  Here’s what I put in it:

1 ripe mango

3 cups spinach

1 small pattypan squash

a generous amount of whole milk yogurt

a little bit of water to get things going

Generally, these things have all had the spinach and the yogurt but I change the types of fruits and vegetables depending on what’s available, in season, or on sale.  I’ve noticed that if I just buy the ingredients judiciously it doesn’t get to be too expensive.  It’s also a good way to use up extra fruits or vegetables that I might have around.  And no cooking required!

Movies I’ve watched: Friends with Money (a girl movie starring Jennifer Aniston…yet I totally loved it!) and Sense and Sensibility (I love you, Jane Austen)

Music I’m listening to:  Song in A&E – Spiritualized

Projects:  getting ready to backpack out on the coast tomorrow night

Leave a comment